Predicting the 1st Round of the NBA 2014 Playoffs

NBA Playoffs 2014

Admittedly, I haven’t been paying much attention to the NBA season this year. It’s mainly because I prefer playing basketball or watching Kuroko no Baske instead… and because my Boston Celtics didn’t look the same this year. Regardless, I’m still a fan of the National Basketball Association and I am partially invested in this year’s playoffs. There is an interesting line-up of teams, which will lead to a few interesting matches. Here are my selections as to who will emerge from the first round of the NBA 2014 Playoffs.

Eastern Conference

  • 1 Pacers v. 8 Hawks
    Even though they’ve been sub-par recently, they are still the best team in the east. I’ve got the Pacers winning in five games.
  • 4 Bulls v 5 Wizards
    I know nothing about the Wizards, but I don’t see the red-hot Bulls getting kicked out in the opening round. Bulls win in six games. I just wish D Rose was healthy.
  • 3 Raptors v 6 Nets
    Raptors are in third? I don’t think a lot of people would have predicted that in the beginning of the season. In fact, they probably would have predicted that the Brooklyn Nets would be in the third spot. Regardless of a slow start, the Nets slowly came into their own towards the end of the season. This will probably be the closest series in the East. I say that the Nets will win in seven games, but I’m a little biased since I love Pierce, Deron and Garnett.
  • 2 Heat v 7 Bobcats
    Easiest pick in the books. Heat in a clean sweep.

 

Western Conference 

  • 1 Spurs v 8 Mavericks
    It seems like the Spurs are always in the top spot in the West, but after that they are unpredictable. This might be the year they get knocked out of the first round again, or it may be the year they win it all. I’m happy to see another Spurs/Mavs series, but I’ll give the Spurs the advantage. Spurs win in six games.
  • 4 Rockets v 5 Trailblazers
    After a red-hot start in the beginning of the season, the Blazers find themselves in the fifth spot, going against the Rockets. Harden, Lin, and Howard might be too much of a threat in this match up. Blazers do have a few threats of their own, so I’ll say this will go to six games… with the Rockets winning.
  • 3 Clippers v 6 Warriors
    This match-up hurts me. I love the Chris Paul Blake Griffin combo, with Doc Rivers coaching. But I’m also rooting for Steph Curry and Mark Jackson. I’ll be sad to see one of these two teams go home, and I’m hoping one of these teams win it all. With a heavy heart, I’ll say Clippers win over the Warriors in seven, since the Warriors live and die by the three.
  • 2 Thunder v 7 Grizzlies
    Second easiest slot to predict. No disrespect to the Grizzlies, but I don’t see them eliminating the Thunder in the first round. Thunder win in five games.
2 thoughts on “Predicting the 1st Round of the NBA 2014 Playoffs

Leave a Reply

