The “N Word” & Video Gaming

grand-theft-auto-5-franklin

When you hear the N word in movies and television shows it is usually used for dramatic effect to enhance a scene or drive a point. The word isn’t common in these two forms of media, and the same goes for video games. The only game to use that word in the past few years is Grand Theft Auto V. GTA V used the “n-i-g-g-a” version of the word (sadly, if you take away the last two letters of the word and an “a,” the meaning becomes completely different) and is used by a black character named Lamar, to call another black character, Franklin, a brother/friend/someone he could trust. As a black guy myself, I don’t really have a problem with it because I hear the word on a daily basis on every day life. GTA V is a running joke that broadcasts the flaws of society today, so its use of the N word is to point out the overuse of the word in the real world. GTA uses a lot of satire that isn’t supposed to be taken seriously, So I actually applaud the developer of GTA V, Rockstar, for having the courage to use the word.

The only other use of the word in video gaming I can think of is every game with a multiplayer aspect in the game. In highly competitive games like Call of Duty, players will very often throw expletives at one another since tensions are high and your blood is boiling. To be fair, once again I’m referring to the “n-i-g-g-a” version of the word used to refer to someone as a person/teammate/someone who has your back. For example: “Good sh*t my n*gga” and “I got your back my n*gga” are very common. Also used are: “Ah damn, that n*gga shot me” and “I got that n*gga over there.” Again I personally don’t have a problem with it because I believe that version of the word isn’t used to call someone a slave or an ignorant person. To often in society it is used to basically add “flavor” to a sentence. “Ah damn, that guy shot me,” doesn’t sound as cool to some. I have more of a problem with Call of Duty than the N word, because as a former COD player, I believe it raises your blood pressure by at least ten percent… But that is a story for another day.

If you’d like to read my full review and thoughts on Grand Theft Auto V, click the link below.

http://classicbutnew.com/2013/12/31/grand-theft-auto-v-single-player-review/

Leave a Reply

