First Impressions- Neon Genesis Evangelion

Neon_Genesis_Evangelion_LogoWith this spring/summer anime season being as weak as it is, I thought it would be a good time to catch up on a few shows I missed out on. Instead of starting the super long Bleach, I decided to start watching Neon Genesis Evangelion first. Evangelion is occasionally brought up during discussions about the best anime’s of all time, but I never understood why. I’m only five episodes into it, so I don’t see what is so special about it yet, but I am enjoying my time with it so far. I was a bit discouraged when I initially saw the old-school animation, but it is an old anime and I adjusted to it very quickly. It isn’t the prettiest anime out there but who cares? As long as the story is good, I certainly don’t care how it looks.  

Yu Yu Hakusho is another old school anime that didn't have "great" animation, but if Evangelion is half as good as Yu Yu was, I'll be a happy Otaku.

Yu Yu Hakusho is another old school anime that didn’t have “great” animation, but if Evangelion is half as good as Yu Yu was, I’ll be a happy Otaku.

I’m told that Evangelion is a psychological thriller, so I’m expecting a big twist or revelation somewhere down the road, but for now I’m enjoying the chilled pace it is moving on. I’m interested to learn more about Shinji, Rei and Shinji’s father and how those relationships will influence the series going forward. I have a feeling in the back of my mind (that’s where feelings are stored, right? In the mind?) that I am missing something I should have already picked up. When something big happens, I’m sure I’ll be screaming “I finally get it!” Until then, my eyes will be peeled and my ears will be zoned in. Well, thanks for reading. I’m off to watch episode six through twenty.

I was also informed to look out for religious themes as well... The NERV logo is perhaps a hint of the overall story.

I was also informed to look out for religious themes as well… The NERV logo is certainly evidence of those themes. 

Leave a Reply

