E3 2014: Microsoft Press Conference Recap & Reactions

Xbox-One-Logo

Phil Spencer opened up a great event by pushing games, even mentioning Sony and Nintendo. The entire event was dedicated directly to the gamers, showing a wide variety of games. I’ve never seen that kind of diversity from Microsoft. The press conference didn’t feel like a press conference. It was more of a showcase of a game after game after game. Microsoft really seems to want to bring more exclusives to their system this console generation.

First game shown was Call of Duty: Advanced Warfare. I’m not a Call of Duty fan anymore, but Advanced Warfare looked pretty good. The graphics certainly looked better than COD: Ghosts and the single player looks like it will give more diversity, but keeping with that basic linear story-line the series is known for. The conference continued by showing the impressively looking Forza Horizon 2, a new monster in Evolve, Dragon Age and Fable Legends. All games looked impressive, but the stand outs of the event for me were Sunset Overdrive, Assassin’s Creed: Unity and Scalebound.

Sunset Overdrive had the best trailer and demo, showing off its humor that the developer Insomniac is known for. The trailer made fun of bland shooters and showed off some great weaponry and colorful visuals. AC: Unity will bring co-op play to the series, which makes a lot of sense. That is a logical step forward for the Assassin’s Creed franchise, and even though I don’t care for multiplayer that much, it looks interesting. And as for Scalebound, the main character looks like a younger Dante with Beats and the game is being made by Platinum games… Sign me up.

The event also showcased the support for already released games via DLC. Forza Motorsport 5, Dead Rising 3 and Killer Instinct. Applause to Capcom for naming the Dead Rising 3 DLC, Dead Rising 3: SuperUltraDeadRising3ArcadeRemixHyperEditionEXPlusAlpha. It shows that they have a sense of humor regarding the jokes being made against the Street Fighter series for having multiple iterations for one game.

Overall, Microsoft had one of the best conferences I’ve seen from them in years. As a guy who doesn’t own an Xbox One yet, they really convinced me that I need that system. I also haven’t played much of the Halo games, so the Master Chief collection appeals to me greatly, so I can finally get into that series. When I get myself a Xbox One I’ll be getting the Halo collection and Halo 5, Sunset Overdrive, Scalebound and maybe Horizon 2. I will keep playing third-party games on my Playstation 4, and I won’t be playing games online because I don’t want to pay for Xbox Live. I’m not much of a multiplayer guy anyway.

Games Shown: 

Forza Motorsport 5 (DLC) (Exclusive)

Forza Horizon 2 (Exclusive)

Evolve

Assassin’s Creed: Unity

Dragon age: Inquisition

Sunset Overdrive (Exclusive)

Dead Rising 3 SuperUltraDeadRising3ArcadeRemixHyperEditionEXPlusAlpha (DLC) (Exclusive)

Disney Fantasia (?)

Dance Central Spotlight (Exclusive)

Fable Legends (Exclusive)

Project Spark (Exclusive)

Ori and the Blind Forest (Exclusive)

Halo Master Chief Collection (Exclusive)

Halo 5 (Exclusive)

Inside

Indie showcase

Rise of the Tomb Raider

Witcher 3

Killer Instinct season 2 (Exclusive)

Phantom Dust (Exclusive)

The Division

Scalebound (Exclusive)

Crackdown (Exclusive)

 

Leave a Reply

