Flashback Backlog- The Binding of Issac: Rebirth

BindingOfIsaac

I bought The Binding of Issac on Steam for a few dollars during a sale two months ago, completely forgetting that Rebirth was coming as a free Playstation Plus game. So that means I have another PC game that I’ll never play on PC, but can experience it on my Playstation 4. And experience it I did, last weekend.

I planned to just try it out for an hour, but for the past week, it is the only game I’ve played.

I’ve “beaten” the game about ten times now and I don’t see myself stopping anytime soon. This game is my new addiction, an addiction so strong that it is rivaling my previous addiction to Persona 3 and 4.

I picked up this game at the worst possible time, because now instead of video games competing with my study time for upcoming finals, my study time is competing with The Binding of Issac.

I am SO glad that this game came to Playstation Plus as a free game, but I would happily pay full price for this game. I’ve been playing mostly on my Playstation Vita in bed or in-between my classes since it is so convenient. I don’t see myself playing on my Playstation 4 until I finally start streaming games on Twitch, hopefully next month. I’m also kind of mad that the Vita and PS4 versions of the game are not cross save, so I have to unlock things a second time when I start playing on my PS4 again.

My best runthrough was with Azazel, the overpowered flying monster. I received some generous item drops, including an item (The name is slipping my mind) that allowed me to shoot in every direction at once. Combined with Azazel’s charge beam attack, I dominated most of the rooms I entered, including the fight with Satan.

I still haven’t beaten Mom’s heart with Eden or Judas, but I’ll try to vanquish that problem by next week. I recently fought Issac with Eve for the first time and managed to win because I had homing tears, laser tears, full health and a full health pill. The amount of things to kill in this game is constantly growing along with my love for this game.

If you asked me to describe why I love this game so much, I’d struggle to perfectly capture the magic of this brilliant game. The Binding of Issac: Rebirth is a game I will never get tired of.

Leave a Reply

