CBN’s 2014 Review Round-up

2014 was a year full of awesome games, but great disappointments as well. We reviewed 27 games in 2014, and I’m still trying to decide what our game of the year is, until then you can view our recap of the games we loved and hated in 2014.

Here is a list of the games I’ve reviewed in order and their respective scores (All scores are out of 10):

  1. Thief- 4.5
  2. Lightning Returns: Final Fantasy XIII- 4
  3. Hatsune Miku: Project Diva f- 7.75
  4. Danganronpa: Trigger Happy Havoc- 8.5
  5. Bravely Default- 7.75
  6. The Last of Us: Left Behind (DLC)- 10
  7. Towerfall: Ascension- 9.5
  8. Infamous: Second Son- 8.75
  9. Conception II: Children of the Seven Stars- 5.25
  10. UFC- 4.75
  11. Child of Light- 8.5
  12. Mario Kart 8- 9
  13. Strider- 6.75
  14. Ultra Street Fighter 4 (DLC)- 9.25
  15. Akiba’s Trip: Undead & Undressed- 3.25
  16. The Walking Dead Season 2- 8.75
  17. Naruto Shippuden: Ultimate Ninja Storm Revolution- 3
  18. Destiny- 6.25
  19. The Wolf Among Us- 8.75
  20. Tales of Xillia 2- 3.5
  21. Nidhogg- 9
  22. Bayonetta 2- 8.5
  23. Super Smash Bros. for Wii U- 10
  24. The Binding of Issac: Rebirth (DLC)- 10
  25. Middle Earth- Shadow of Mordor- 9
  26. Transistor- 9.5
  27. Shovel Knight- 9

  • Favorite games of 2014? The Binding of Issac consumed my winter break. Ultra Street Fighter 4 was everything I’ve ever wanted and more. Danganronpa was my favorite game of the year because it was so different from everything else I played.
  • I didn’t review Call of Duty, Danganronpa 2 or Assassin’s Creed Unity like I planned to do. I signed off on reviewing Call of Duty games because I think I’m biased, I didn’t want to struggle through Unity after hearing all of the bad press, and I ran out of time to review Dangan 2. I also didn’t review Dragon Age because that game is pretty much a second part-time job.
  • If I could go back and rewrite a review, it would be for Infamous: Second Son because I’ve soured on that game over time. It’s still a really fun game, but it felt like a tech demo for the new system rather than a fully realized game.
  • Indie games were the saving grace for this year. A lot of broken and underwhelming games came out this year, opening the door for smaller games to shine, especially on the Playstation 4.
  • Nintendo was also savior of 2014, since all of their games actually worked upon release.
  • Highest ratings were given to The Binding of Issac, The Last of Us: Left Behind  and Super Smash Bros, all given perfect scores.
  • Lowest rating was given to Naruto, which received a 3 out of 10.
  • Tales of Xillia 2 was the biggest disappointment for me, while Shovel Knight and Nidhogg being the biggest surprises.

Our Top 10 lists for 2014 will be coming soon, so please look out for that. Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

