CBN’s Most Anticipated Video Game Remakes of 2015

In a way, it kind of makes me sad that this is a thing now. Instead of creating new games, remakes and remastered versions of old games are becoming more frequent.

But now that I think about it, it gives players the opportunity to play a game they never played before without suffering too much from a generation gap. One of my favorite games of 2013 was the HD version of The Wind Waker on the Wii U. And I got to play my favorite game of all time, Kingdom Hearts 2, without having to dust off a Playstation 2. Remakes and remasters can bring life back to dead beloved characters or change an initial opinion players had on a previous title.

Remakes are certainly not going away, as 2015 holds a few promising remastered versions of games of old. These are the remakes we are looking forward to the most.

The Legend of Zelda: Majora’s Mask

majoras mask

Original Release year: 2000 | Old Platform: Nintendo 64 | New Platform: 3DS

It’s either the best Zelda game or the worst Zelda game. That’s what I always hear about Majora’s Mask. It’s the most grim Zelda game by far, and I hear it’s pretty stressful. I want to find out how good (or bad) this game is for myself and I finally can. Wind Waker is my favorite Zelda game because it is just so peaceful to play, so hearing about a stressful Zelda game kind of freaks me out, but I take one look at that cover art for the game and tell myself that I need to experience Majora’s Mask.

Grim Fandango 

grim fandango

Original Release Year: 1998 | Old Platform: PC | New Platform: Playstation 4, Playstation Vita, PC

“At least you’re not hitting the bottle anymore.” Grim Fandango had me at that line. No, it had me the second the trailer started… No! It had me the first time I heard the title: GRIM FANDANGO. I don’t know why exactly, but that just sounds fantastic. Everyone looks like the Grim Reaper, the game looks hilarious, and everyone who has played it before, loves it. Even though I have no idea what to expect in terms of gameplay, it’ll still be great experiencing this title for the first time.

Ratchet & Clank

ratchet and clank

Original Release Year: 2002 | Old Platform: Playstation 2 | New Platform: Playstation 4

This is the one that kind of upsets me. Not too long ago I bought the Ratchet & Clank trilogy for the Playstation 3. Now here comes a remastered version for the first title on the Playstation 4. Don’t get me wrong, I’m still excited about it because I love Ratchet & Clank since it was the first Playstation 2 game I ever played. I don’t doubt that the Remaster will be great, but I just want a new entry to the series.

R&C: Tools of Destruction was the first game I played on the Playstation 3 and R&C: A Crank in Time is one of my favorite games ever. Now I get to play the remake of the original game… Yay?

I’m not knocking Knack, but the Playstation 4 should’ve launched with a new Ratchet & Clank game instead if they wanted to generate interest. A movie and remaster might not do the trick.

Xenoblade Chronicles

xenoblade

Original Release year: 2010 | Old Platform: Wii | New Platform: New 3DS

I wanted to buy Xenoblade for the Wii after hearing about how it was the best Japanese Role Playing game of its generation, but the game is so rare that it you can barely find it at a Gamestop or either costs over $100 online. his Gamestop exclusive title came out and didn’t receive enough attention it deserved, and now it is getting a new lease on life.

Xenoblade Chronicles X is coming out for the Wii U this year, and for someone like myself who wants to check out the previous entry beforehand, a remake of Xenoblade Chronicles for the New 3DS is perfect.

The Next Call of Duty  

call of duty

Original Release Year: Dawn of Time- Present Day | Old Platform: All of them | New Platform: All of them (Except Wii U)

/Kappa.

Leave a Reply

