Anime Month: Day 21- Tengen Toppa Gurren Lagann

*Spoilers for Gurren Lagann*

“This is a tale of a man who has yet to learn his destiny.”

No other anime, movie or video game has inspired me to move forward in life as much as Gurren Lagann has. Epic in every way possible, Team Dai Gurren unrelentingly moves towards the future. No matter what is in the way, they burst through it, only to become stronger than before.

Even in death, we move forward because the human spirit is so strong, that it doesn’t stop existing at the moment our lifeforce does. It lives on within the next generation of souls, then in turn, that generation leaves a mark on the next, and so on.

“My bro is dead. He is gone. But he’s on my back! In my heart! He lives on as part of me! If you’re gonna dig, dig to breach the heavens. Even if it’s my own grave I’m digging, I keep going! Once I’ve dug my way through, that means I’ve won! Who the hell do you think I am? I’m Simon. I’m not my bro Kamina. I am me! Simon the digger!”

This show represents the journey of the human spirit. Constantly in flux, challenged by the world around them, the spirit can break, but with the right amount of courage, nothing is impossible. This never give up attitude never stops being a presence in the show. “Do the impossible, see the invisible.”

No life is meaningless … Humanity is a drill, a spinning wave of potential, strong enough to pierce the heavens.

Even though I’m not the person I’d like to be yet, I’m moving towards that goal with the strength of the people who have given me the courage to find the path for myself. I don’t know what the future has in-store for me, but I can only move towards it.

That’s why I consider myself an unofficial, yet official member of Team Dai Gurren.

Gurren-lagann2

“This is the tale of man who continues to fight against his fate.”

One thought on “Anime Month: Day 21- Tengen Toppa Gurren Lagann

  1. Pingback: April is Anime Month | Classic But New

Leave a Reply

