Attention JRPG Fans! Hold on to Your PS3s!

Since the new generation of video game consoles are out into the world, a lot of people might be thinking of trading that dusty old console for a shiny new one. Trading in a Playstation 3 for $100 might sound appealing but is it worth it? For some folks who have nothing to look forward to on their old consoles it might be worth it, but for the average JRPG fans out there, let me tell you why it is not worth it. Spoiler alert: it is all about the games.

  1. Tales of Symphonia Chronicles
    Tales_Of_Symphonia_Chronicles-1
    Tales of Xillia was the first Tales game I’ve ever played and I LOVED it. I’ve never played Symphonia but I’ve only heard great things about it. Hey, if it is half as good as Xillia, I’ll be more than happy to buy it. ToS Chronicles comes with Symphonia and its 2008 sequel, all for the price of $40.
  2. Tales of Xillia 2
    Tales-of-Xillia-2-Announced
    If you are a JRPG fan and you haven’t played Tales of Xillia, GO PLAY IT! Xillia is a fantastic game and it is one of my overall favorite games of this year. The sequel has already been released in Japan, but it is coming to the rest of the world in 2014. Fast paced gameplay, an unbelievable amount of dialog, and a good story. These elements made Xillia great, so if Xillia 2 can mimic and expand this in anyway, then JRPG fans are in for one hell of a ride.
  3. Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
    kingdom-hearts-hd-2-5-remix-logo
    After the successful release of Kingdom Hearts 1.5, Square Enix didn’t take long to confirm Kingdom Hearts 2.5. The game will include Kingdom Heart II Final Mix, Kingdom Hearts Birth by Sleep Final Mix and scenes from Kingdom Hearts Re:Coded. Kingdom Hearts is arguably the most loved JRPG franchise of all time since it holds a special place in the childhood of many gamers. The first two KH games were a perfect blend between Disney and the JRPG genre. The story-line of Kingdom Hearts is a complex one, so 2.5 should be a perfect way to segue into Kingdom Hearts 3 when it is released for the Playstation 4.
  4. Final Fantasy X/X-2 HD Remaster
    FFX_X-2_HD_Remaster_Logo
    FFX is another JRPG I’ve never played, so this one is a must for me. I’ve heard mostly great things about FFX, so I’m very excited to play this on my Playstation 3. I’ve also heard not so great things about FFX-2, so I’m skeptical about that one. Regardless, give me FFX on my PS3 and I’ll be a happy gamer.
  5. Persona 5
    persona 5Yeah. Persona 5 is happening and it is happening soon. P5 was announced on November 24th (My birthday :D) along with three other Persona games, but P5 will only be on the PS3. So if you are a fan of the Persona series (who isn’t?), you’ll need a Playstation 3 in order to play the next installment of the series. Addictive gameplay, catchy soundtrack and lovable characters are some of the many things that makes the Persona games so special. And to be honest, what else do you need to make a great JRPG? P5 has only been announced for Japan, but since the series is extraordinarily popular in the U.S, I can easily see it coming to the states.
  6. And don’t you neglect all of those awesome JRPGs that are already out for the Playstation 3.
    Ni No Kuni, Valkyria Chronicles and Disgaea are still amazing games to play in the mean time. The Playstation 3 has a unbelievable amount of Japanese role playing games for it, I highly doubt that you’ve played all of them. But if you have, you deserve a trophy. Either way, keep those PS3s fresh and ready to go in 2014, because it should be an awesome year for the JRPG genre.

Leave a comment